Tech

Google brings two-factor authentication to millions of users


Google said in post It enables two-factor authentication or two-step verification for up to 150 million additional accounts by the end of this year

This came after the company in May announced plans to enable two-factor authentication by default to enable more security for many accounts.

The company indicated in 2018 that 10 percent of its active accounts use two-factor authentication. And she’s been pushing, motivating, and encouraging people to enable the setup ever since.

Another aspect of the effort requires that more than two million YouTube creators turn on two-factor authentication to protect their channels.

The search giant says it has partnered with institutions to give away more than 10,000 security keys to devices each year. And its push has made the technology easily available on your phone whether you’re using an Android or an iPhone.

A tool that also helps users to keep accounts secure is the use of a password manager. The company now says it checks more than 1 billion passwords daily via its built-in manager in Google Chrome and Android browsers and its official app.

A password manager is also available on iOS, where Google Chrome can automatically fill in logins for other apps.

Also Read: Ways to Backup Authenticator App

Google reminds you to set up inactive account manager

The company says it will soon help you generate passwords for other apps, which should make things clearer. And soon you’ll also be able to see all your saved passwords directly from the company’s app list.

Google highlights the inactive account manager. This is a set of decisions that you must make about what happens to your account if you decide to stop using it or you are no longer able to make those decisions.

The company added this feature in 2013 so that you can set a timeout period for your account between 3 and 18 months of no use. And that’s before the inactive account manager protocols took effect.

And if you switch accounts or forget your login information, the company sends an email a month before the limit is reached.

At this point, you can choose to have your information deleted or forwarded to any trusted contacts who want to handle it on your behalf.

A Google blog post notes that the inactive account led to the massive Colonial Pipeline attack earlier this year.

Read also: Access your account when you lose your two-factor authentication app

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button